Fundraising target reached!!

I’m incredibly pleased to announce that I have not only reached but surpassed 100% of my London Marathon fundraising target for Meningitis Research Foundation! I’m over the moon with happiness and there is still 7 weeks before the marathon so I have plenty of time to smash the target even more! At the end of the month I’m holding a charity gig night at my house for friends to enjoy which will be my final big fundraising push and act as a little celebration event too.

target100I really want to say a massive thank you to everyone that has donated to the cause, baked cakes, donated raffle prizes, allowed a collection pot to be in your store, and generally supported me through the last 10 months of fundraising! I’m touched by the generosity of so many people and I couldn’t have reached my target without you all. The tiredness and pain that I will be feeling near the end of the marathon will be eased by knowing that I have helped raise such a great amount for a fantastic charity!

I wish my running was going as great as my fundraising but unfortunately the shin splints are still persisting. Running has been pretty much out for the last couple of weeks but I’m slowly trying to ease back with a couple of miles on the treadmill to test if I’m fully recovered. It’s going to be a slow but steady process of working my miles back up. I’m spending a lot of time on the spin bike instead, still doing my personal training sessions and upper body conditioning work so my general fitness is great and my legs feel supper strong. What it does mean is that I won’t be doing the Silverstone Half Marathon this weekend. It’s a real shame as I was looking forward to my first half marathon but I have to be sensible and focus just on the London Marathon. There would be no point in pushing myself to complete the half marathon and irritating my shin splints again with only 6 weeks till the big event. It’s really not worth the risk and instead I just need to concentrate on reaching the marathon start line pain free and in the best shape possible.

Thank you again to everyone for helping me reach my target and if anyone who hasn’t donated yet and wishes to support this great cause then please donate by texting the code SSLM84 and the amount e.g. £5 to 70070 or alternatively donate on my Just Giving page. All proceeds go directly to the charity. Thank you!

thumbs-up

This entry was posted in charity, running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

