Another work cake sale!

After the Christmas festivities I knew a lot of my work colleagues were either on a diet of some sort or getting fit for the New Year. Rather than trying to deter them from achieving their goals I decided to wait till the start of February and advertise my cake sale as a treat for all the hard work and effort they have put in to getting in to shape.

The last work cake sale was such a huge success with lots of people donating cakes to the cause I really didn’t expect as many this time round. How wrong was I?! Again, I was overwhelmed with the generosity of my work colleagues and as you can see in the pictures there was another huge selection of tasty cakes and biscuits on offer. The full list is as follows:

  • Chocolate cake from Jane Stanhope
  • Chocolate traybake from Linda Jones
  • Salted caramel cake from Laura Jackson
  • Carrot cake (and alternative healthy option of grated carrot and humus) from Joe Bailey
  • Coffee and walnut cake from Ian Fletcher
  • Chocolate Guinness cupcakes from Kirsty Squires
  • Fruit cake from Angela Hook
  • Honey glazed cake and Portuguese custard tarts from Su Davies
  • Coconut cake from Louise Morfitt’s mother

acs1   acs3

I of course couldn’t expect my colleagues to do all the baking and got my clean hands dirty by producing some cherry and smarties fairy cakes while my wife produced some cherry swirl biscuits and chocolate chip cookies. I even decorated the cherry fairy cakes with some golden edible glitter but I admit I had to pass this job over to my wife as the glitter was literally floating about in the air, getting absolutely everywhere, and therefore setting off my glitter phobia!

acs4

I have to say a massive thank you to Libby Ryan for producing a magnificent fruit cake for a ‘guess the number of cherries in the cake’ competition. A grid was produced with numbers ranging from 11-60 for my colleagues to put their name next to the number they think is the correct one. The competition was a huge success with the grid getting completely full and thus raised £25 towards the cake sale total. Congratulations to Keri Watson for guessing the correct number of cherries in the cake which was 21. I admit I was a little sad to hand the cake over to Keri as it smelt mouth-wateringly beautiful and I wish I could have tucked into it myself!

shaun_s_cherry          acs6

I’m incredibly happy to say that a total of £221 was raised by the cake sale. That is a superb amount and takes my total to 87% of my target! That means I’m only just over £250 away from reaching my target so with a few months still to go hopefully I will not only reach my target of £2,000 but smash it!

If you would like to help me reach my target for Meningitis Research Foundation you can donate by texting the code SSLM84 and the amount e.g. £5 to 70070 or through my Just Giving page. All proceeds go directly to the charity, thank you!

This entry was posted in charity, running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

