Festive fundraising!

December has really been an excellent month for fundraising! I announced in my last blog post that I now have a partnership with TredFlex as my exclusive corporate sponsorship and they have donated £350 to the cause (they also currently have a sale on, 25% off their whole range so check it out here!). Read on to learn more about my festive fundraising that have helped to raise great amounts of money.

The Kettering ASDA store very kindly let me pot collect in-store on a Saturday leading up to Christmas. This was hugely successful and I was overwhelmed by the generosity of complete strangers who in the 5 hours I was at the store helped raise £162.20! A massive thank you has to go to Liz Packwood the store community champion for her help in booking me into the store and also for donating a tub of Celebrations for my Christmas hamper. Liz is going to try and book me back into the store in the New Year which would be really handy for raising more money.

asda-potBecause my work colleagues have been so fab with supporting me through my fundraising and training effort so far with their kind words of support, donations and for providing cakes for my cake sale, I thought it would be nice to put together a small festive hamper raffle for them to have a chance to win some great goodies while also helping to raise funds in the process. The hamper included a tub of Celebrations; a bottle of Prosecco; mince pies; selection box; Toblerone; biscuits; hot chocolate; Christmas mug, slate and cushion; and a candle. Interest was extremely high and raffle tickets sold thick and fast. In total £122 was raised and the lucky winner of the hamper was Ed Norris. He was over the moon and also very kindly donated the food items to the food bank collection we run at work. It was great to know that people in need would also be benefitting from the hamper and it really was a lovely Christmassy gesture from Ed. Thanks again to all my work colleagues who bought a raffle ticket, it really is much appreciated.

xmas-hamperSo with all the fundraising this month and with a Christmas donation from Chris Wykes and my sister Kelly, my total is incredibly healthy and sits at £1,474.20 which is 73%!! There are more fundraising plans in motion with another work cake sale probably at the end of January when people feel ready to eat cake again after the Christmas junk fest; hopefully another pot collection at ASDA and last but not least there are also plans for a gig night and raffle sometime in the next couple of months.

With the New Year just round the corner I want to say a massive thank you to everyone who has supported me in 2016 and to wish you all a very happy 2017. The next 4 months are going to be incredibly tough on the training front as the mileage starts to creep up. What makes the training easier is the knowing that I’ve helped raise so much money for a great cause, so if you would like to help me reach my target of £2,000 please donate to Meningitis Research Foundation through my Just Giving page, thank you!

This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Festive fundraising!

  1. Nicola S says:

    Very proud of you. Love you lots! Nicola x

    Like

Leave a Reply

